Poughkeepsie: Nic L Inn

If there’s one thing I love to do, it’s trying new things. I like to think of myself as a good sport about the things I’m less excited about, but for those things that seems foreign but fun/interesting, I’m all about it. Take for example 2 years ago, when I was diving for spiky sea urchin only to open them up with a knife and slurp them down. Different, but one of the cooler experiences I’ve ever had.

Less cool is when I go out and try new restaurants. (I swear my life revolves around eating and I swear I’m not mad about it.)

The Nic L Inn in Poughkeepsie is a place I’ve passed by a few times only to ever immediately say, “we should really try that” and today, we finally did. Am I jumping for joy that it was able to make a believer out of a creature of habit who knows what he likes and doesn’t care to know much else? You betcha. Is the only reason we went there because I decided against moving and could therefore save a bunch of money? Also, you betcha!

I’d normally be more into the photo game of each course when it comes to food and places I like, but I was so into the meal and my sweet company that I only managed to grab two. Recommendations based on other courses we ate (read: devoured) would be the Dijon & Cracked Peppercorn Marinated Skirt Steak, Peach and Bourbon Cheesecake, and Brownstone Merlot.

20770035_10159263755555014_4092384534931796120_n
The Local Board: Sprout Creek Toussaint, Creek Kinkead and Creek Margie served with local honey, strawberry preserves and pistachios.
Screen Shot 2017-08-13 at 7.24.00 PM.png
Cavatelli Aglio e Olio with housemade (!) chicken sausage, sun dried tomatoes, grilled eggplant, broccoli rabe and ricotta.
One thought on “Poughkeepsie: Nic L Inn

Leave a Reply

